#2 Technology

May 4, 2008 at 11:07 pm 4 comments

Parent\'s & Technology

Parent’s just don’t understand Technology, but want to take all their frustration out on us. Let me tell you from personal experience that working with parents on how to send an email or upload an attachment to them seems like rocket science, because most are just not computer literate unless of course they work with them on the daily.

I know we all have some kind of story from when you’re parents done something completely dumb with the computer or asked u an idiotic question about their new found love with text messages on their cell phone….I know mine have.

My mother just purchased a Blackberry smartphone and call me like I’m Alltel Technical services for every single aspect from sending a text to deleting missed calls…THANK GOD for free mobile to mobile!

This might not be relevant for all parents, but for the most part they don’t know the first thing about a word document or that you suppose to use search terms in Google not url’s to websites! (ie: Google Search: http://www.myspace.com) Just use the freaking address bar at the top!

They probably thing Yahoo or MSN messenger is an online mail delivery service. They’re just unpredictable when it comes to computers, cellphones, digital camera’s, or pretty much anything electronic or made after 1995.

Here are some random Parent’s Just Don’t Understand Moments from the humorous site College Humor:

My mother has had a computer for several years, and uses it quite regularly to type documents. I discovered recently that she has a single word document on which she has typed everything ever. She just scrolls down to the bottom every time she wants to write something new. The document is 223 pages long.
From Sam

My dad refuses to write text messages because he says “the buttons are too small.” He will only use the pre-written text options. His response to every text is, “Thank You,” “I’m running a little late,” or, “See you later.”
From Mike, Kean University

My dad thinks the only way to navigate to a website is to open IE and run a Google search on it. The worst part is that he types http://www.google.com into the address bar before he types his other website into Google.
From Ryan, VSCC

My dad friend requested me on Facebook. I thought it was no big deal until he began writing on my wall like he was talking to me. He wrote 20 “Hey buddy!”s on my wall until I told him in person not to. Then he sent me gifts.
From Dad’s #1 Pal

Believe me they get dumber from there :). Read some more Parent’s Just Don’t Understand Moments on College Humor.

What are some of your personal experiences of parents just not understanding Technology?

Entry filed under: Parents, Technology. Tags: , , , , , .

#1 We Are Not Their Personal Slaves #3 Parents Trying To Be Cool Is Not Cool

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Collie  |  May 4, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    Yeah parent’s really are dumb when it comes to technology. Funny cause I was just searching for something and came upon this site and it was like de ja vu 🙂 or something…like that.

    My mom is always bothering me about how to connect to the internet wireless from her laptop or send pics on her PDA phone

    Reply
  • 2. Alice  |  May 6, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Interesting article, but what a shame to think of ur parents inabilites as dumbness. I bet you were not born that smart and its ur education (of which ur parents were a big part) that made you the tech savy person you are today. I dont think you would have enjoyed being call a dumb head if you could not send an SMS when you were 5 yrs old.

    So show some respect and a little bit of gratitude and help your parent become a little more comfortable with the changing world.

    Reply
  • 3. fredrickus  |  May 6, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Oh That hurt…Alice..It’s all in good fun

    Reply
  • 4. Oliver  |  March 25, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    I just got a new TV and my dad is taking ages to wire it up even though i could do it in 5 mins and to make things even worse i cant even be in the room but because i grew up with tech i could set a tv up during a rock concert

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Contact

Tfashion07@gmail.com

Archives


